Yellow Folk-Art Painted Chair

After completing my first two painted chair designs which are inspired by Pennsylvania Dutch symbols, I made a slight departure. My first two chairs used a similar color scheme on a red background.

This, my third project, is rendered in a subtle, limited palette on a pale yellow background. In contrast with the balanced, symmetrical designs on my first two projects, this piece incorporates an asymmetrical approach.

This time I experimented with a matte acrylic sealer rather than the glossy look I had chosen in my first two “red” chairs. The design is still Pennsylvania Dutch inspired, but with a more non-traditional approach.

Chair with yellow background and subtle design of Pennsylvania German symbols
A modern interpretation of Pennsylvania Dutch designs in a non-traditional color scheme
Leave a Reply

