Another Hand-Painted PA German Inspired Chair

I liked my first attempt at a hand-painted chair so much that I decided to make another one. Coincidentally, a friend of mine had ended up with an identical old chair at the auction of my parents’ home. She was kind enough to give it to me. I was generally pleased with the color scheme on the first chair, so I decided to create a complementary design.

With a little experience under my belt, I was more confident in how I approached the second chair. I used a similar set of steps, but modified the design. Each chair is a unique, one-of-a-kind design, but related to the other.

The traditional Pennsylvania Dutch tulip motif, which symbolized the Trinity as well as faith, hope, and charity, is part of this design. Hearts are interwoven into this design. To Pennsylvania Germans, the heart represented the heart of God.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

